The Embrace

I keep trying to resist,

I keep trying to hold the pieces together.

Each one carelessly glued on,

How am I supposed to attend to them all?

I’ve been riding the train of optimism for far too long,

And my body can feel it.

It needs a break from feeling whole,

It needs a rest from being strong,

But I’m holding on for dear life.

A fear so familiar it tastes like me,

A fear so insidious it’s been there all along,

Underlining my movements,

Magnifying my judgments.

It is not until I tune into the waves and nuances that I finally find compassion,

A meeting of love and pain,

A uniting of loss and empathy.

This is my home, this is my temple,

And I am here to listen to you, my dear.

Leave a Reply

